Medieval Britain PDF


Medieval Britain is a history unit about the Anglo-Saxon invasion through the Wars of the Roses. It is for a mentor to use with ages 6 to 18, family-style.


Medieval Britain is the sixth unit in the Middle Ages History course. This unit is about British history including the Anglo-Saxon invasion, William the Conquer, Magna Carta, the Hundred Years War, and the Wars of the Roses.

This book is for adult mentors to use as a resource when planning lessons, not a textbook for students.

This unit has sections on:

  • Anglo-Saxons
  • Normans
  • Hundred Years War
  • Wars of the Roses

Layers of Learning is activity-based and this unit guide includes many hands-on ways to learn about Medieval Britain. Here are a few things you will find to do inside this unit:

  • Craft Anglo-Saxon puppets that depict the classes of society
  • Make griddle cakes like the ones Alfred the Great ate a peasant’s cottage
  • Sort the good and bad qualities of a ruler into castles as you learn about The Anarchy
  • Read and analyze the Magna Carta
  • Color and craft foldable about the Hundred Years War for your Book of Years
  • Make a “stained glass” craft of Warwick slaying his horse before the battle of Towton
  • Craft a huge oversized crown for Warwick the Kingmaker
  • And much more!

Layers of Learning History units include Library Lists of books on the topic, a family read-aloud suggestion, hands-on activities, printables and paper crafts, sidebars for extra learning, and tools to help you assess your student’s progress and mastery. Learn more about how Layers of Learning works.

See Inside

This is a view of a two page spread from High Middle Ages Europe:


In the sample view above you can see Explorations, which are one day’s lesson. The “Warwick the Kingmaker” exploration has a fun, hands-on activity for kids to do to pair with learning from books or videos about the nobleman who wielded power behind the scenes during the Wars of the Roses period. This exploration has a yellow, green, and blue smiley indicating that we think it works great for kids from ages 6 to 9 and ages 10 to 13 and 14 to 18.

This unit, like all of Layers of Learning is pick-and-choose so the mentor can decide which Explorations to choose from among many options.


This unit was written to be used for a month but contains plenty of content for many more weeks of learning if you choose. This is a pick-and-choose curriculum, meant to be cycled back to in the future when your child is older. As such, it intentionally includes far more material than you can possibly cover in a month.

Medieval Britain is also part of the overall Middle Ages History course, the second Year of the four year Layers of Learning History cycle. If you use the program in order, it will take you through the history of the world from ancient times through the 21st century. However, each unit stands alone and can be used independently of any other unit.

Printable Pack

This unit comes with a downloadable Printable Pack that includes all the student worksheets. The printables can be copied as many times as needed for your family or class.

You can download the Printable Pack from your receipt or from your account at Layers of Learning. This printable pack includes 26 pages.


Extra Resources

This unit comes with extra weblinks and a YouTube video playlist on the Middle Ages History Resources page.


PDF Download








There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Medieval Britain PDF”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You may also like…

Scroll to Top